D Clarity

What Is This Weird Balloon For

lemonade stand communist menace

leave a comment »

I thought this was a joke at first. Apparently not.

Last week, I was in a car with my brother and his fiancee, driving through their upscale neighborhood on a hot summer day. At the corner, we all noticed three little girls sitting at a homemade lemonade stand.

…my brother asked how much each item cost.

“Oh, no,” they replied in unison, “they’re all free!”

That really set me off, as my regular readers can imagine.

“No!” I exclaimed from the back seat. “That’s not the spirit of giving. You can only really give when you give something you own. They’re giving away their parents’ things — the lemonade, cups, candy. It’s not theirs to give.”

I pushed the button to roll down the window and stuck my head out to set them straight.

The author of this screed publishes a column that you can read for free on the internet. But the best part is that the author believes the children should sell the lemonade because it isn’t theirs to give away. You shouldn’t give away things that aren’t yours…you should charge money for things that aren’t yours!

American capitalism circa 2010 A.D.

Written by geek

09/07/2010 at 3:27 am

Leave a Reply

